Parent Teacher Organization - Services

PTO Home About Us Programs Services Forms Newsletter Archives

DESCRIPTION OF PTO SPONSORED EVENTS

  • Staff Welcome Back Lunch – provide lunch (by PTO and volunteers) to SMHS staff on their 1st day back (nice way to meet your child’s teachers!)
  • Early Registration – during two half days prior to the first day of school, assist new and returning students in submitting the appropriate pre-first-day of school forms; guide new and returning students through the registration process.
  • Back-to-School Night – coordinate and host snack tables for all parents and staff as they meet each other officially for the first time
  • California Exit Exam – provide and distribute healthy snacks during this exam (which all students must pass in order to graduate)
  • 8th Grade Family Information Night – provide snacks to prospective incoming families as they attend an evening where they will learn about the academic and extra-curricular offerings at San Mateo
  • Open House – provide snacks as students and parents visit classrooms
  • Staff Appreciation Week – assist during a week of celebrating the staff at San Mateo that includes breakfasts, coffee and culminates in a lunch on Friday
  • Proctor AP exams – provide adult presence and monitoring at each of the 10 exams (volunteers are not required to proctor all 10 exams)
  • AP Exam snacks - provide and distribute healthy snacks during AP Exams
  • Jefferson Awards – coordinate public service recognition event
  • Academic Awards Night – host reception for the attendees
  • Senior Activity Breakfast – provide breakfast and adult presence as the seniors celebrate their upcoming graduation (Senior Parents highly encouraged to volunteer)
  • Bearcat Awards – assist teachers and staff at a twice yearly luncheon honoring nominated students.
  • Scholarships – review applications and select winners for 3 PTO sponsored scholarships.
  • Various Parent Communications – coordinate production and distribution of many parent updates including: the In Contact Newsletter, PTO Handbook, Student Directory, Daily Bulletin, Email Blasts. In addition, coordinate 5 parent information meetings per year where relevant topics are presented by knowledgeable speakers.

PTO STUDENT SERVICES

Textbook Room Susan Owen susanjonsowen@gmail.com
Student Recognition Sandra Sun sandrasun@comcast.net
AP Exam Proctor Christine Semenza christinepta@hotmail.com
Senior Grad Night TBD  
Senior Activity Breakfast TBD  
Scholarships Amabel Goel amabel@thegoells.com
Christine Semenza christinepta@hotmail.com

PTO PARENT SERVICES

Email Communication Helen Sellers helensellers@hotmail.com
In Contact Newsletter Sajitha Vinod sajvi@yahoo.com
PTO Handbook Isabelle Bushman isabellebushman@gmail.com
Summer Mailing Isabelle Bushman isabellebushman@gmail.com
Escrip Helen Sellers helensellers@hotmail.com

SAN MATEO HIGH SCHOOL PTO BOARD & COMMITTEE CHAIRS

HOSPITALITY

General PTO Meeting Mylene Mayrand   mylene.mayrand@gmail.com
Back to School Night Kris Burke kburke4@comcast.net
8th Grade Info Night Staci Stoveland      sstoveland@gmail.com
Open House Jill Vath jill@vath.com
CASHEE exams (10) Jodi Cruse jlcruse@comcast.net
Senior Awards Night TBD  

TEACHERS & STAFF

Welcome Back Lunch Shikha Hamilton sbhlawyer@hotmail.com
Staff Appreciation Week Carol Rossi carol_rossi@yahoo.com
Jefferson Awards VACANT  

LIAISONS

ASB President Alyssa Collins  
School Site Council Julie Scanlon  
Olga Basman  
Black Parents Association Melissa McNair smubpa@gmail.com
Latino Parents Group Fabian Morales-Medina fmorales@smuhsd.org
Music Boosters Toni Saldou aesaldou@gmail.com
Drama Boosters Shikha Hamilton sbhlawyer@hotmail.com
Athletic Boosters Andrew Wadhams Awadhams5@gmail.com
SMHS Bearcat Benefit Gala Isabelle Bushman isabellebushman@gmail.com
Chemi Lo chemienlo@gmail.com
Foundation Harini Krishnan harinivikas@yahoo.com
Mark Chandler mclchandler@astound.net